Cardr
Free · Pro $15/mo
- Price
- Free · Pro $15/mo, checked 2026-10-29
- Best for
- Sending the follow-up
- Skip it if
- You need CRM, badges or NFC
A free Wallet card with no app for either side: they scan and save you, can send theirs, and Pro drafts your follow-up.
Free forever · No card details · About a minute
cardr.co/rachel-lindgren
Example of what happens next: Marcus Bell scans Rachel’s card, saves Rachel to their contacts and chooses to send their own details back. The next morning at 9 a.m., Cardr Pro reminds Rachel to follow up, with the email already drafted.
The short answer: Dot and Cardr both make a digital business card, and both are good at it. Both put a real pass in Apple Wallet and in Google Wallet. The difference is what happens after the handshake. Dot is strongest at tap devices with a free profile included. Cardr is built for the follow-up you keep meaning to send.
Last updated October 29, 2026, when every Dot fact on this page was re-read from Dot’s own pages.
Cardr
Free · Pro $15/mo
Dot
from $15/mo
Almost always one specific thing rather than a general dissatisfaction. If it is not this one, we are probably not your answer either.
Dot’s free dot.Profile keeps “Basic Contact Management” and “Last 7 day insights”. The paper card scanner, contact export and the full insights are on dot.Profile+ at $15 a month, so the part people use after an event is the part that is paid.
Everything else about Dot is fine, and on the points below they beat us. So the useful question is not “which is better” but whether the thing that sent you looking is a thing we actually fix. On the follow-up: Cardr’s paid tier is the message after the meeting, drafted from your note and reminded on the day, rather than the scanner and the export, which are free on Cardr.
Tap through what Tom sees when he scans your card.
No app, no account, no sign-up for the people you meet.
| Feature | Cardr | Dot |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Yes, the full card, forever, no card details taken | Yes: dot.Profile, “Free for life”, with “Two Way Contact Exchange” and “Apple and Android Wallet Integration” |
| Paid price | $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually ($144 a year) | dot.Profile+ $15 a month billed monthly, or $12 a month billed annually ($144 a year), with a 7-day free trial. Teams: Essential $8 and Growth $15 per member a month, billed annually. |
| Apple Wallet pass | Yes, a signed .pkpass on the free tier | Yes: “Apple and Android Wallet Integration” on the free dot.Profile |
| Google Wallet | Yes, on the free tier | Yes: “Android Wallet Integration” on the free dot.Profile |
| They can send you their details | Yes, after they save you: two-way exchange on the free tier | Yes: “Two Way Contact Exchange” on the free dot.Profile |
| Follow-up drafted for you | Yes, on Pro, from the note you kept about the meeting | See their site |
| CRM integrations | None | “CRM Integrations” on the Growth team plan |
| Physical NFC cards | We do not sell any; bring your own tag. Our metal cards, Cardr Metal, use a QR | Yes: dot. devices, with “FREE lifetime dot.Profile access with every order”; shown from £31 to £102 to a UK visitor on October 29, 2026 |
Prices checked on October 29, 2026. Every figure in this table was read from https://dotcards.net/pages/dot-profile and the pages quoted below that day and is reproduced without editing. Prices are in the currency their page showed us; ours are in US dollars. Where a cell says “see their site”, the published page did not state it clearly enough for us to summarise honestly, so we have not guessed. If anything here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
Pick Cardr if…
Pick Dot if…
The free tier is the whole card, with no expiry and no card details. If it is not better for you, you have lost a minute.
Reproduced rather than summarised. Our previous site described a competitor's capabilities from memory and got it wrong in our own favour, so this page shows you the source and the date instead of asking you to trust the summary.
dot.Profile+ $15 a month billed monthly, or $12 a month billed annually ($144 a year), with a 7-day free trial. Teams: Essential $8 and Growth $15 per member a month, billed annually.
Free tier: Yes: dot.Profile, “Free for life”, with “Two Way Contact Exchange” and “Apple and Android Wallet Integration”. Apple Wallet: Yes: “Apple and Android Wallet Integration” on the free dot.Profile. Where a cell elsewhere on this page says “see their site”, their published page did not state it clearly enough for us to summarise honestly, so we have not guessed.
Growth $15 /member/month — billed annually · Essential $8 /member/month — billed annually
$15 per month, billed monthly. · $12 per month, billed annually (total $144 per year).
A comparison page that only flatters the people who wrote it is an advert. Here is the honest half.
Dot sells tap devices (cards, stickers, wearables and a stand for a counter) and every order comes with lifetime access to the free dot.Profile, which already has a two-way contact exchange and both phone wallets. dot.Profile+ adds an AI paper card scanner, a map of where you met people and bulk contact export, and its team plans add templates, admin controls and CRM integrations.
If you want a physical tap device from the same company as your profile, Dot sells a range of them and Cardr sells none. Its Growth team plan lists CRM integrations; Cardr has none.
The choice between Cardr and Dot is not close once you know which of these you are. Read down the left column and stop at the first line that is you.
Cardr’s free card needs nothing bought first, and Pro is the follow-up rather than more card: a reminder on the day they named and a message drafted from the note you kept about them.
ExampleRachel Lindgren and Marcus Bell are invented.
Cheapest plan, per year
Also on Dot: Blinq vs Dot · Popl vs Dot
Free plan: contacts a month
Start with Best digital business cards: Ten compared on price, Apple Wallet and follow-up, including where the others beat us.
Free, for good
Checked against Dot’s published pages on October 29, 2026.
Both are free at the entry point. dot.Profile+ is $15 a month billed monthly, or $12 a month billed annually ($144 a year), per Dot’s subscription policy; Cardr Pro is $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually ($144 a year). Cardr’s free plan includes the contact export that Dot puts on dot.Profile+.
Yes, and Google Wallet as well, as Cardr does. Dot ships an Apple Wallet pass, and anyone telling you otherwise is selling you something. The pass itself is not the difference between these products.
There is nothing to migrate. Build a Cardr, add it to your Wallet, and start handing that out instead. Anyone who already saved your old card keeps it; it just stops being the one you share. Cardr also exports everything to CSV or vCard, on the free plan as well as Pro, so you are never locked in here either.
Cardr’s free plan is the complete digital business card: a signed Apple Wallet pass, your page at cardr.co/yourname, a QR code, unlimited shares, no limit on exchanges or contacts, live updates to your pass and your page, and the two-way exchange, where the people who save you can send you their details. No expiry, no card details taken and no limit on exchanges or contacts. Dot also publishes a free tier, so compare where each one is capped rather than whether a free plan exists.
If you want a physical tap device from the same company as your profile, Dot sells a range of them and Cardr sells none. Its Growth team plan lists CRM integrations; Cardr has none.
The Cardr free tier is the whole card and it does not expire. If it is not better for you than what you are on, you have lost a minute.